Air University / Maxwell AFB News

Category: CCAF
  • AU-ABC program expands enlisted education opportunities

    Airmen join the Air Force for a variety of reasons, but perhaps the most common is for the service’s vast educational opportunities. The Air University-Associate-to-Baccalaureate Cooperative program, or AU-ABC, is perhaps a little-known opportunity that can reap big rewards. The AU-ABC was created to help enlisted Airmen pursue advanced education beyond the associate degrees they earn through the Community College of the Air Force. The program links CCAF graduates to accredited civilian academic institutions that offer online or distance learning bachelor’s degrees.
  • Airman recognized during CCAF historical event

    During the 2017 Senior Enlisted Leadership Summit, Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force Kaleth O. Wright recognized Senior MSgt. Duane Caudill as the Community College of the Air Force’s 500,000th degree recipient.

Department of Defense

Army Maj. Gen. Joshua Chamberlain and the 20th Maine Infantry earned their place in military history by holding the critical far left flank of the Union line against repeated Confederate attacks during the second day of the Battle of Gettysburg.
Aerial refueling — the process of transferring fuel from a military tanker aircraft to another military aircraft — helps to make global reach a reality.
Seventy-five years ago today, U.S. forces landed on a tiny Japanese island in the Western Pacific called Iwo Jima, beginning a fierce five-week battle that would cost thousands of American lives.
Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Anthony Martinez is so good at his job as a hospital corpsman that Naval Medical Readiness Training Center Bremerton, Wash., named him its 2019 Sailor of the Year.
Most Medal of Honor recipients earned the award during combat, but Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Owen Francis Patrick Hammerberg is one of the few recipients who earned it for his heroic efforts outside of normal duty.
‘Lieutenant Dan’ actor Gary Sinise was presented with the Congressional Medal of Honor Society’s Patriot Award for his nearly four decades of work to support troops, veterans and first responders.