95 Cadets Selected for AFCLC’s Language Enabled Airman Program




After a virtual selection board process this spring due to COVID-19 restrictions, the Air Force Culture and Language Center selected 95 Cadets for the Language Enabled Airman Program out of 216 applicants. This year marked the second year that candidates were selected for LEAP from a branch other than the U.S. Air Force; five of the LEAP selectees will eventually enter the U.S. Space Force.

Participation in LEAP is voluntary and highly competitive. To become a LEAP scholar, Airmen and Guardians must demonstrate proficiency in a foreign language specified on the Air Force Strategic Language List, receive an endorsement from their unit commander, and compete via a board process. Selection to LEAP is based on applicants’ existing language proficiency, potential to achieve higher levels of language proficiency, and Air Force language requirements.

Below are the names of the 95 Cadets who are now members of LEAP, or watch our announcement video, featuring LEAP Scholars Maj. Alex Watkins and Capt. Austin Pickrell, on YouTube:

Modern Standard Arabic

Bacon, Makayla

Cain, Hallie

Collord, David

Harrison, Regan

Hess, Lillian

Judkins, Emily

Kristensen, Cameren

Martin, Creston

Mathis, Camryn

Schumacher, Brooke

Walsh, Virginia

Williams, Elizabeth

Chinese Mandarin

Asbury, Fiona

Ault, Dusten

Ayers, Jackson

Chang, Eric

Chen, Winifred

Dalton, Jodi

DiRuggiero, Benjamin

Fletcher, Hannah

Gabriel, Jonathon*

Moen, Elijah

Polzin, Matthew

Qiu, Noah

Quesenberry, Joseph

Sexton, William

Steis, Megan

Sun, Franklin

Vaughan, Henry

Wang, I-Yu


Flash, Zachary

Foster, Cailin

Hulet, Adaline

Liu, Peter

Overby, Kaleb

St Pierre, Luke

Topacio, Gabrielle


Cooper, Alexander

Hoffmann, Andrew

Miller, Alexander

Morgan, Harley

Ruane, Jill

Whitney, Addison

Wright, Jacob

Haitian Creole

Monthioux, Julius


Carter, Briana

Choe, Stephanie

Harris, Akira

Jones, Rayne

Meno, Christopher

Park, Peter*


Park, Hannah

Pimental, Elizabeth

Shin, Kayla

Smith, Erin

Yun, Christina

Persian Farsi

Montezeri, Ario

Portuguese Brazilian

Cepero, Destiny

Hunt, Zachary

Jacques, Anthony

King, Alexandra

LoGrande, Anna

Stronko, Kylie

Portuguese European

Grim, Mallory


Bentlin, Samuel*

Fadlovich, Jeffrey

Gostel, Camryn

Kessel, Emily

Maloney, Colin

Nordmark, Samantha

Olhausen, Camryn

Ostrander, Zachary

Schlesinger, Hannah

Schroeder, Hannah*

Staso, Beau


Benz, Olivia

Brooks, Benjamin

Castellanos, Enrique

Holub, Vance

Housley, Garrett

Lantzman, Macen

Marenco, Evony

Quintero Hilsaca, Camila

Ricketts, Angela

Rohlwing, Spencer

Samayoa, Wendy

Stone, Alexis

Wieman, Andrea*

Yagoda, Samuel

Zaccone, Stephanie


Eadie, Kierenne

Larkins, Cairo


Firth, Ryan

Yazzie, Chantz


Richey, Stephanie

*Denotes U.S. Space Force